Weekend Fun + Week 1 Recap

6/6/11
7 miles tempo / 1:01 / 8:43 avg pace
1 mile easy, 5 miles at 8:35 (MP), 1 mile easy

Date day/night with Hawk was fun.  First up was a stop at Kelly Drive.

Yes, I really am this un-tan.  It’s not the camera flash.

Mr. Hawk seemed to enjoy himself.

Next we strolled around Philly and got some drinks.  Guess who we bumped into?  Mayor Nutter (a.k.a., mayor of Philly)!  He was checking out a menu with 2 other people (staff?).  Matt and I were across the street and one of his staff noticed I was holding my camera and waived us over for a picture.  Mayor Nutter is always present at all the Philly races so it was nice to meet him in person.  Of course, Hawk got in on the picture.

The rest of the day went unpictured:  dinner, trying to find a patch of grass for Hawk to use as a toilet, sleeping in, and brunch (pancakes for me, french toast for Matt).

Lehigh Valley Marathon – Week 1 Recap
MON:  5K + 1.5 mi warm-up
TUE:  8 mi tempo
WED:  rest
THU:  8 mi easy
FRI:  5.4 mi easy
SAT:  13 mi long
SUN:  rest

A total of 39 miles for the week.  Overall, I’m happy with how the week went.  I got some hill training in and did my tempo run on a trail.  I also like how I’m starting out at 39 miles, considering last cycle I maxed out at 43 miles 🙂  Fun, fun!

How was your weekend?  Any good races or training runs?  Are you tapering or just starting up like me?

10 Responses

  1. I love the picture with the mayor almost as much I as I love that Hawk came on date night. 🙂

  2. Whoa that is cool that you got a picture with the mayor. I had a nice and relaxing weekend.

    I am tapering now which I am kinda excited to bring my miles back down!

  3. Wow! 39 miles for week 1. I maxed out at 40 for my last marathon plan. You are awesome! How many miles are you planning on getting up to for this plan?

  4. You forgot to add that it was 39 hard & fast miles! Seriously, a great 5k race and a LR that was pretty fast… Girl, you are on fire for week #1. This marathon has no idea who’s coming to town.

  5. Nice work on your training! I’m currently “benched” due to an injury, so I’m swimming. 🙂

  6. Nice job… way to go!

  7. I am so excited for you. Our governor used to go to our gym when he was mayor and one time Eric spotted him. You are off to an awesome start – BQ here you come!

  8. wow! thats great. I, too, maxed out at 43 for NJM. Now am prob below 30 (I haven’t added up recently), but prob need to increase that btwn now and July! (when I start training for NYC)…

    you go girl!

Leave a comment