Changing Things Up

5/31/11
8 miles (4 at tempo) / 1:09 / 8:37 avg pace
2 miles @ 7:44 — 8:02, 7:39
2 miles @ MP — 8:42, 8:32

*****************************************************************************************************************

“If you keep doing the same thing, you’ll get the same results”.  So very true when it comes to training for a marathon.  So what will I do differently with this training cycle?  For starters, it’ll be more challenging.  I’m still using the FIRST training plan with the following modifications:

Increase overall mileage
Since NJM was only a month ago I still have a good base built up and plan to build on top of that (starting at ~40 miles per week and going from there).  I’d like to max out at 60 mpw, but not sure if that is possible.  We’ll see.  So in addition to 3 hard runs (speed, tempo, long), I’ll be adding 2 easy runs to get my miles in.

Switching between hill repeats and track workouts
When I trained for Steamtown, I did lots of hilly runs and I felt so strong.  For NJM, I concentrated on flat and fast.  Both worked well for me but I want to combine the two for the Leigh Valley Marathon.  I need speed in order to BQ and I need hill repeats so I can maintain my marathon pace over hills.  So one week I’ll hit the track for intervals and the next week I’ll hit the hills for repeats.

Trail running
Since 12 miles of the Leigh Valley Marathon will be on a trail, I need to be able to maintain a fast pace on gravely terrain.  I’m going to try and do my tempo runs on a trail.

Cross-train
Still aiming for yoga at least once a week and maybe (gasp!) some strength training.

Long runs – some fast and some slow
Usually I do my long runs pretty close to my goal marathon pace.  I still plan on doing some of them but I also plan on slowing down my pace every now and then.   

Hopefully all of this will lead me to a BQ in September!

13 Responses

  1. I like that 12 miles is on the trails! I find that it’s pretty easy to maintain pace on gravel. Unless it’s hilly gravel, then that’s a different story. 🙂

    • Me too. The 8 miles I did this morning were on trails and I did find it easy to maintain my MP! I think the hills will be more of the rolling variety, which is exactly what I’m going to train on.

  2. Have you checked out Jill’s blog (sneakersister.com). She lives there and maintains another running website for lehigh valley. She may be able to help you figure out the exact terrain. She used to post on KR, a forum a post on. If you want her email, let me know.

    Looks like some good modifications to the plan. I think mixing things up is good, physically and mentally. (And, for me at least, none of the things I’ve followed thus far have got me to where I want to be, so I’m always searching for the right mix of training that will get me to my goals!)

    I think the hill training will be good for you – it’ll provide strength and give you an extra speed workout!

  3. I am keeping my fingers crossed that you will get that BQ in September!!! With proper training, anything is possible!!

    Can’t wait to follow your training — How is the weather out there? It’s brutally HOT and HUMID here. Do you start training really early in the AM before the humidity kicks in?

    • Thanks, me too!

      It’s hazy, hot, and humid in Philly! Just awful. I run super early (always do)…I beat the sun but not the humidity!

  4. I have only run halfs, but I mixed hills into my speed work/tempo runs for my training this spring and I felt well prepared for the hilly Bucks County Half in Tyler State Park (daily mile elevation here: http://www.dailymile.com/routes/609387-running-route)

    I need to get on an earlier running schedule too – it got really hot/humid this past week! Good luck with your training.

    • Even though they are not fun, hills really do make you feel stronger! I’ll have to check out that half in Bucks County, I honestly never heard of it before. Is it a newer race?

      I love running in the early AM to beat the sun (can’t beat the humidity though). My motivation for getting out of bed is thinking how miserable I will be if I wait until after work when it’s *really* hot. That usually does the trick!

  5. Sounds like a tough but great plan! I love the variation, you can get your BQ that way for sure! Very inspiring post, its so true, to reach our goals we need to train hard!

  6. […] was looking over an old post I wrote at the beginning of this training cycle, where I laid out my plans for changing things up […]

Leave a comment